Register

Welcome to the Be Prepared Forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Using a vacuum sealer?

I'm buying a lot of food and everything else I can think of, I'm new at this. Family thinks I'm nuts. Going it alone. I have a vacuum bag sealer, a good one, and tons of bags, and have oxygen absorbers on the way. Can I put my own new boxed food in them with a oxy. absorber? Like powdered milk, it's good for 2/3 years new, if in a vacuum bag, with the absorber, won't it last years and years too? Then I can do small package mixes, my own sugar, and teas, does anyone have the answer to this? Also, if I bag seal batteries, do I need an axygen absorber in them too?

If your using a vacuum sealer then you don't need oxygen absorbers. It won't hurt but it is just overkill. What i do is either leave the food in the original bag with the bag opened or cut the directions from the container and put them in the bag with the food. There are a few things that you don't want to vacuum seal -one of them is brown sugar. When sealing powdery items you need to keep the powder from being sucked into the sealer.

There are a lot of threads about using a "food saver". Unfortunately they are not all under one topic so you have to search around. OTOH you will find a lot of interesting and helpful info. : )

So- while in the forum tab, in the search box try: food saver, vacuum sealer, jar attachment. You will also find Grainlady's post especially helpful.

Hi Nemo and welcome to the forum.